Board of Directors

Ed Wallis


Ed Wallis (68) was appointed a director in September 2004, taking up the post of chairman in January 2005. He is a chartered engineer. He was the founding chief executive of Powergen where he also held the position of chairman before retiring in 2003. Prior to this he gained more than 30 years of experience working for the Central Electricity Generating Board. He has a wide range of other board-level experience including the chairmanship of Lucas Varity and London Transport. He was invited to become a companion of the British Institute of Management in 1994 and in 1997 became a fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering. In 1996 he was awarded honorary doctorates by both Brunel University and Aston University. He became chairman of the Natural Environment Research Council in 2006. He is chairman of the Nomination Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Keith Clarke

Chief Executive

Keith Clarke (56) was appointed a director in October 2003. He is a chartered architect. He joined the Group from Skanska AB where he was executive vice president responsible for its activities in the UK, Poland, Czech Republic, India and China. He has over 30 years' experience in construction and engineering, having previously worked for the City of New York, Olympia and York, Trafalgar House and Kvaerner. He is chairman of the Construction Industry Council, having previously chaired its Health and Safety Committee. He is also an advisory board member of the Built Environment Innovation Centre at Imperial College, London, a member of the Supporters at Large Group for Open House and patron of the Environmental Industries Commission. He is a member of the Nomination Committee.

Alun Griffiths

Executive Director

Alun Griffiths (53) was appointed a director in March 2007. He has a background in management consultancy and has led a wide range of projects in the areas of restructuring, organisational development and privatisation in the UK and internationally. He is an economics graduate and a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development. He was appointed Group HR director in February 2003. Alun was appointed to the UK Government-backed Industry Board of the UK Resource Centre for Women in Science, Engineering and Technology (UKRC).

Robert MacLeod

Group Finance Director

Robert MacLeod (44) was appointed group finance director in June 2004. A chartered accountant, he joined the Group as group financial controller in March 2003 having previously worked in a variety of senior financial roles at Enterprise Oil plc. He is currently a non-executive director of Aggreko plc. A graduate of Cambridge University, he trained at KPMG.

Admiral the Lord Boyce

Non-executive Director

Lord Boyce (65) was appointed a non-executive director in May 2004. He had a distinguished career in the Royal Navy and the Ministry of Defence (MoD) that culminated in his becoming First Sea Lord, professional head of the Royal Navy, in 1998; and then Chief of Defence Staff, professional head of the Armed Forces, from 2001 to 2003. He was elevated to the peerage in 2003 and was appointed Lord Warden and Admiral of the Cinque Ports and Constable of Dover Castle in 2004. He is a non-executive director of VT Group plc. He is a member of the Remuneration and Nomination committees.

James Morley

Non-executive Director

James Morley (59), a chartered accountant, was appointed a non-executive director in 2001. He is a non-executive director of The Innovation Group plc and Costain Group PLC. He was previously chief operating officer of Primary Group Limited and also previously finance director at Cox Insurance Holdings plc, Arjo Wiggins Appleton plc, Guardian Royal Exchange plc and Avis Europe plc. He is senior independent director, chairman of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Nomination committees.

Fiona Clutterbuck

Non-executive Director

Fiona Clutterbuck (50) was appointed a non-executive director in March 2007. She is a managing partner within a business that owns and controls Pearl and Resolution insurance group. Fiona has substantial experience in all areas of corporate finance, including a particular focus on the financial institutions sector, gained during 15 years at Hill Samuel and HSBC and latterly seven years at ABN AMRO. Fiona has advised on a wide range of transactions in many countries, including mergers and take overs, public company acquisitions and fundraisings, and public and private company sales and flotations. Fiona has an LLB (Hons) from the University of London and qualified as a barrister in 1980. She is a member of the Audit and Nomination committees.

Sir Peter Williams

Non-executive Director

Sir Peter Williams (63) was appointed a non-executive director in May 2004. He graduated from Cambridge University with an MA and PhD in physics and initially pursued an academic career at Cambridge and subsequently at Imperial College, London. After a period with VG Instruments Limited he joined Oxford Instruments plc in 1982. He became its chief executive in 1985 and was chairman from 1991 until his retirement in 1999. He is chairman of the National Physical Laboratory and a non-executive director of GKN plc. Sir Peter was elected as fifth chancellor of the University of Leicester on 21 October 2005. He is also vice-president of the Royal Society and a trustee of Marie Curie Cancer Care. He is chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit and Nomination committees.

Raj Rajagopal

Non-executive Director

Raj Rajagopal (54) was appointed a non-executive director in June 2008. He held several positions at BOC Edwards before being appointed chief executive, a position he held until November 2006. He was an executive director of the BOC Group plc until November 2006 and is a non-executive director of Dyson Group plc. Raj is a vice president and Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and chairs its manufacturing sector panel. He is a fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management. He is also an Audit Commissioner, a member of both the Council of Cranfield University and of the Advisory Board of the Centre for Business Research of Cambridge University. He was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree by Cranfield University in 2004 and the IET's IEE Eric Mensforth International Gold Medal for outstanding contribution to manufacturing technology and management in 2003.

Top   Previous  Next